Archive and Trash Configuration Items

Trash can

In 4me, organizations can specify how long records that could contain personally identifiable information (PII) should be retained. A retention period can be specified for such records, to ensure that they are moved automatically to their account’s archive, and from there to their account’s trash. Once a record has been trashed, it is automatically erased after 28 days. This life cycle support has now also been added to configuration items (CIs).

CI life cycle

A record that is in its end state and is left unchanged for the specified archive retention period, gets moved to the Archive. Similarly, if a record is left unchanged for the trash retention period, it gets moved to the Trash. Archived records can be viewed by specialists in the ‘Archive’ section of the Settings console, trashed records can be viewed by administrators in the ‘Trash’ section of the Settings console. Once a record has been in the Trash for 28 days, it is irrevocably erased. A configuration item is in its end state when its status is ‘Archived’, ‘To be removed’, ‘Lost or stolen’, or ‘Removed’.

Note, that the ‘Archived’ status for CIs is different from this new life cycle action to archive configuration items; CIs with the status ‘Archived’ will not show up in the ‘Archived’ view if no retention period is set. As this may cause confusion, it is likely that the ‘Archived’ status will be phased out in the future.