Retention Policy

 In Security & Privacy

TimerService providers are now able to specify how long records, which could contain personally identifiable information (PII), should be retained. By specifying a retention period for such records, service providers can ensure that they are moved automatically to their 4me account’s archive, and from there to their account’s trash. Once a record has been trashed, it is automatically erased after 28 days.

Retention Policy

As long as a record is in the archive or trash, it can still be restored without any loss of data. But once a record is archived or trashed, it can no longer be found using 4me’s Search functionality, and the record will no longer be included in any of 4me’s reports.

Archived and trashed views

Specialists will still be able to see the link to an archived record in the other records to which it is related.

Once a record is trashed, however, it will no longer be visible in the records to which it was linked.

Specialists can still look up any archived record in the ‘Archived’ views that have been made available for each of record type that can be archived. Auditors and account administrators also have access to the ‘Trashed’ views so that they are still able to look up the records that are in the trash.

 

Archived request

Specialists can also go into the ‘Archive’ section of the Settings console to look through the archived records of their account. But after a record has been trashed, only the auditors and account administrators are able to see them in the ‘Trash’ section of the Settings console.

Administrators of an account are also able to manually archive or trash a record. They can do this by opening a record that has already reached its end state in View mode. The options ‘Archive’ and ‘Trash’ are then available in the Actions menu. When they use one of these options, it takes effect immediately. After they trash a record, however, it still takes 28 days for this record to get erased.

Trashed request

To restore an archived or trashed record, an administrator can simply open it in View mode and select the option ‘Restore’ from the Actions menu.

Note that the tasks of changes and projects cannot be archived or trashed independently. When a change or project is archived, trashed or erased, its tasks automatically undergo the same life cycle state update.

ImageVirus